Tags

,

(stick with what you knoooooowwww)

(actually do the opposite of that probably)

Lately I have developed a habit I kind of enjoy, which is I invade the kitchen, catch my roommate there, and then talk to her for a long period of time until I am done eating. I cannot tell if she is getting as much out of this as I am (vaguely positive social interaction for the day), but she’s related to me and I pay rent to her mom, so there’s very little she can do about it.

She’s decorating the house like a Christmas fairy tale wonderland. My dad died on December 14th; all this crap makes me uncomfortable as hell, but I go with it, because that’s how you show you are well-adjusted. Also it is how you show you are capable of respecting things other people care about even when you are at best ambivalent to the whole process.

I don’t care about Christmas, really. I like giving my friends things, and I like being on what passes in adulthood for vacation, but all the peace-on-Earth-goodwill-towards-men stuff is kind of…Well, when you’re going to yell at someone for wishing you “happy holidays” instead of “merry Christmas,” clearly you are not working on the goodwill bit very much at all.

Don’t listen to me, though. I had ice cream for dinner. I know very little.

