Here is the central irony of my life.

All I want to do is drop out of grad school and start a cafe. I mean, I would also like to do lots of other things, like ever read a novel again and write some kind of something that people will pay me for, but: cafe! Where you get to make coffee and bake things all the time and produce things and stuff like that all the time, and also talk to people! And also have fifty million tattoos and do whatever you want to your hair and no one can give you shit about it ever at all.

The thing is, this is starting to become an idle fantasy with more and more pull on my actual life. To the point that I would like to start learning how to actually bake things, especially in bulk; I have considered buying an espresso machine so I can learn how to make fancy coffee drinks and all that.

But I have a full-time internship! And I’m in school full-time. And I’m not really in a position to be buying a ton of ingredients and so on, especially because I only know a few people who would want to try all the shit.

So I’m basically just dreaming about baking. now. It’s a step up from dreaming about the color scheme. I can’t tell if it’s just stress relief or something I actually want to do.

Anyway, I think when I get home I’m going to buy a bunch of ingredients and maybe a decent mixer and start learning about baking.

